LEGO Art, Super Mario and DOTS shortlisted for Play Creators Awards 2020

Three new LEGO themes – Art, Super Mario and DOTS – have been shortlisted for the toy industry’s Play Creators Awards 2020.

Toy industry organisation Mojo Nation organises the annual Play Creators Awards and has announced the finalists for 2020. In various categories, nominees will be judges by a panel of R&D executives, inventors and designers.

The LEGO Group has been shortlisted in Toy Designer of the Year for LEGO DOTS, which was launched at a London event at the beginning of 2020. LEGO Super Mario, which will launch on August 1, has been shortlisted for Toy Designer of the Year (Licensed). LEGO Art, announced just over a week ago, is shortlisted in the Play Innovator of the Year category.

LEGO Super Mario 71369 Bowsers Castle Boss Battle 57

Here are the full lists for each of those award categories:

Toy Designer of the Year (Sponsored by The Toy Association)
Annalee Robbins (Spin Master) – Rainbow Jellies (Spin Master)
Big Monster Toys & Alpha Group’s Eric Dong & Glenn Yu – RC TerraTrax (Alpha Group)
Chantal Drenthe & Paul Martinsen (Fuse London) & Moose Toys – Oh My Gif (Moose Toys)
Fisher-Price & Open 2 Design – Little People Wheelies Raceway (Fisher-Price)
Moose Toys & Character Options – Heroes of Goo Jit Zu (Moose Toys/Character Options)
PlayMonster – Snap Ships (PlayMonster)
Seven Towns – Junk Bots (Hexbug)

Toy Designer of the Year (Licensed Product)
Big Monster Toys – Paw Patrol Split Second 2-in-1 Vehicles (Spin Master)
Denny Wong (Posh Paws) – Love Hearts Plush Range (Posh Paws)
Dominic Yard (This is YARD) – Little People DC Super Friends 2-in-1 Batmobile (Fisher-Price)
Eric Dong & Glenn Yu – Subway Surfers Spray Crew (Alpha Group)
LEGOLEGO Super Mario Range (LEGO)
Matt Bland & Matthew Jordan (TOMY) – Ricky Zoom Range (TOMY)
Open 2 Design – Peppa Pig Mud Kitchen (Character Options)
Paul Martinsen (Fuse London) – Batman Mega Gear Action Figures (Spin Master)
Gil Zalayet (StudioPlay) & Ryan Kratz (Sound Machine) – Rapid Change Utility Belt Batman (Spin Master)

Play Innovator of the Year
Audrey Tam (Spin Master) – CoolMaker Hollywood Hair (Spin Master)
Brian Whitehead (Briology Ltd) & Fuse London – Easy Knit (Character Options)
Dave Emblin (Moose Toys) – Team Gem (Moose Toys)
Emma Peat (Spin Master) – Go Glam Nail Salon 2.0 (Spin Master)
The Fantastic Factory – Trapped (Golden Bear)
Melbot – Melbits POD (Melbot)
Phil Sage, Scott Clarke, Mel Hershey, James Brown and Colleen Dolan (Hasbro) – D-O Interactive Droid (Hasbro)
TOMY – Rizmo (TOMY)

To continue to support the work of Brick Fanatics, please buy your LEGO sets from and Amazon using our affiliate links.


Graham was the Editor up until November 2020. He has plenty of experience working on LEGO related projects. He has contributed to various websites and publications on topics including niche hobbies, the toy industry and education. Follw Graham on Twitter @grahamh100.

Leave a Reply