LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga possibly delayed to 2021

Bad news, videogame fans: LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga may have been delayed until 2021. A LEGO.com page briefly displayed the news yesterday, but it’s since been updated to the far vaguer ‘Coming Soon’.

Back in May, a video uploaded to the official Star Wars YouTube channel accidentally pegged the game’s release date as October 20. But it’s been all quiet on the videogame front since then, suggesting TT Games’ latest title may not be as imminent as fans hope.

We hopefully won’t have to wait too long to find out for sure: the first gameplay from the saga-spanning effort will be revealed later today at Germany’s annual Gamescom event, at 8pm CEST / 2pm ET / 11am PT.

The first Star Wars videogame from the company since 2016’s LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens, LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga promises ‘something completely different’, as it brings together all nine films from the Star Wars Skywalker saga.

The game is set to feature over 500 characters, and will also be available in an exclusive Han-Solo-in-Carbonite steelbook case. Pre-ordering at the official Warner Bros. online shop will also net you some bonus goodies.

The most recent wave of LEGO Star Wars sets have also included special codes within them to unlock characters and vehicles within the upcoming video game.

To continue to support the work of Brick Fanatics, please buy your LEGO sets from LEGO.com and Amazon using our affiliate links.

Chris Wharfe

I like to think of myself as a journalist first, LEGO fan second, but we all know that’s not really the case. Journalism does run through my veins, though, like some kind of weird literary blood – the sort that will no doubt one day lead to a stress-induced heart malfunction. It’s like smoking, only worse. Thankfully, I get to write about LEGO until then. You can follow me on Twitter at @brfa_chris.

Avatar

Leave a Reply